Towards a Society Beyond PREVENT

Towards a Society Beyond PREVENT

We, the undersigned, recognise that PREVENT is a failed policy that must be abolished and firmly uprooted from society. 

The latest attempt to ‘independently review’ the policy has emerged as being nothing more than a PR exercise to deal with surface-level issues, whilst the Commission for Countering Extremism’s new report seeks to further entrench the framework of Prevent in all but name. 

The rationale and ‘science’ underpinning the policy have been roundly debunked by academics and experts across the board – yet it still continues to be experimented on communities.

The Government’s insistence on the policy against all facts is not only ideologically-driven but also due to its refusal to engage alternative thinking.

Decades of security-heavy policies have not reduced political violence nor addressed the root causes of it. We believe an alternative approach must break from the endless cycle of review, reform and rhetoric.

We must move beyond the narrow, rigged discussions which begin and end on the terms set by government and the security industry – namely that we need surveillance programmes to combat “extremism” and “radicalisation”. 

Rather, we need to reframe the conversation, broaden our collective horizons, and talk about how we can work towards building a healthy, safe society free from violence. 

To that end, we believe the following framework provides a set of short and long term goals through which we can rebuild that society:

  1. Ending PREVENT
  2. Abandoning the discredited ‘theoretical’ assumptions underpinning Prevent
  3. Decoupling welfare and safeguarding from counter-terrorism
  4. Ending austerity and restoring ‘clean’ funding
  5. Discarding the idea that social problems can only be dealt with through security measures
  6. An end to the criminalisation of communities and suppression of civil liberties
  7. Securing an ethical foreign policy
  8. Repealing the near-annual counter-terrorism laws amassed since 2000

This framework will provide the policy ‘umbrella’ under which communities can begin the vital work of rebuilding themselves on the principles of trust, support and solidarity.



Signing with institution name is for identification purposes and not for institutional endorsement.

  1. Magid Magid, MEP for Yorkshire & the Humber, former Lord Mayor of Sheffield
  2. Lowkey – Hip Hop artist
  3. Zamzam Ibrahim, NUS President
  4. Professor Humayun Ansari OBE, Royal Holloway University
  5. Lee Jasper, Former Deputy Mayor of London 
  6. Remy Mohammed, President of the Association of Muslim Lawyers.
  7. Lily Hall, Showroom Gallery 
  8. Raja Faisal, Luton Sunni Council of Mosques
  10. Northern Police Monitoring Project (NPMP)
  11. CAMPACC (Campaign Against Criminalising Communities)
  12. Hollaback! London
  13. Professor Adam Gearey, Birkbeck
  14. Professor Bill Bowring, Birkbeck
  15. Professor Dave Hill, Emeritus Professor of Education at Anglia Ruskin University
  16. Professor David Miller, University of Bristol
  17. Professor David Whyte, University of Liverpool
  18. Professor Elizabeth Shakman Hurd, Professor of Politics, Northwestern University
  19. Professor Eric Herring, University of Bristol
  20. Professor Julian Petley, Brunel University London
  21. Professor Khaled A. Beydoun, Univ. of Arkansas School of Law/UC-Berkeley
  22. Professor Les Back, Goldsmiths University
  23. Professor Richard Jackson, University of Otago
  24. Professor Ruth Blakeley, University of Sheffield
  25. Professor Salman Sayyid, University of Leeds 
  26. Professor Stellan Vinthagen, University of Massachusetts, Amherst/University of Gothenburg
  27. Professor Walter Armbrust -St Anthony’s College
  28. Dr. Nadine El-Enany, Senior Lecturer in Law, Birkbeck School of Law.
  29. Dr Rizwaan Sabir, Liverpool John Moores University
  30. Dr Amani Hassani
  31. Dr Anas Altikriti, The Cordoba Foundation
  32. Dr Anjana Raghavan, Sheffield Hallam University
  33. Dr Bethan Harries, University of Newcastle
  34. Dr Charlotte Heath-Kelly, Warwick University
  35. Dr Emma O’Dwyer, Kingston University
  36. Dr Fahid Qurashi, Staffordshire University
  37. Dr Fatima Rajina, UCL
  38. Dr Feyzi Ismail, SOAS
  39. Dr Joanna Gilmore, University of York
  40. Dr Joe Greener, University of Liverpool
  41. Dr Karis Campion, University of Manchester
  42. Dr Katy Sian, York University
  43. Dr Khadijah Elshayyal, University of Edinburgh
  44. Dr Layla Hadj, Prevent Watch
  45. Dr Leena Robertson, Middlesex University
  46. Dr Les Levidow, Open University
  47. Dr Lisa Hajjar, University of California, Santa Barbara
  48. Dr Muhammad Khan, Ruskin College, Oxford
  49. Dr Naaz Rashid, University of Sussex
  50. Dr Nadya Ali, Sussex University
  51. Dr Narzanin Massoumi, Exeter University
  52. Dr Nisha Kapoor, Warwick University
  53. Dr Osman Latiff, Royal Holloway University of London
  54. Dr Paul-Francois Tremlett, Open University
  55. Dr Philip Thomas, Former Professor of Philosophy Diversity and Mental Health, UCLan
  56. Dr Sadia Habib
  57. Dr Salman Butt, Islam 21c
  58. Dr Sarah Earnshaw, University of California, Bekeley 
  59. Dr Siema Iqbal, AVOW
  60. Dr Tanzil Chowdhury, Queen Mary University
  61. Dr Sita Balani, Kings College London
  62. Dr Thomas MacManus, Queen Mary University London
  63. Dr Tina Managhan, Oxford Brookes University
  64. Dr Usaama Al-Azami, University of Oxford
  65. Dr Vivian Vignoles, University of Sussex
  66. Dr. Graham Smith, University of Manchester
  67. Dr Ghazala Mir, University of Leeds
  68. Dr. Haitham al-Haddad, Independent Scholar 
  69. Dr. Tarek Younis, Middlesex University
  70. Dr Asim Qureshi, CAGE
  71. Adam Elliot Cooper, Greenwich University
  72. Amanda Latimer, Kingston University
  73. Jasbinder S. Nijjar, Brunel University
  74. Kerem Nişancıoğlu, SOAS University
  75. Lisa Redlinski, Brighton University
  76. Yahya Birt, University of Leeds
  77. Arzu Merali, Islamic Human Rights Commission
  78. Mufti Amjad Mohammed, Senior Jurist of Markaz al-Ifta wa’l-Qada
  79. Imam Muhammad Shoyaib Nurgat, Masjid-e-Umer, Walthamstow
  80. Imam Shakeel Begg, Lewisham Islamic Centre
  81. Imam Suliman Gani, Purley Masjid
  82. Imran Shah MPAC UK
  83. Ismail Patel, Friends of Al Aqsa
  84. Attiq Malik, Liberty Law Solicitors 
  85. Rob Faure Walker, Prevent Digest
  86. Roshan Muhammad Salih, Editor 5 Pillars
  87. Richard Haley, SACC
  88. Brighton & Hove Palestine Solidarity Campaign
  89. Community Action on Prison Expansion
  90. Cradle Community
  91. Empty Cages Collective
  92. Sisters of Frida
  93. Malia Bouattia, Former President of the NUS 
  94. Fope Olaleye, NUS Black Students Officer
  95. Adnan Rahman, NUS National Executive Council
  96. Ghulam Haydar, Myriad Foundation
  97. Suhaiymah Manzoor-Khan, Maslaha 
  98. Hamid Mahmood, Founder and Director of Fatima Elizabeth Phrontistery 
  99. Hamza Saghir, Cube Network
  100. Mabrur Ahmed, Restless Beings
  101. Ms. Anne Mitchell, Retired FE deputy principal
  102. Navine Khan-Dossos, Artist 
  103. Rahima Begum, Restless Beings
  104. Rukon Hassan, Ikhwa
  105. Saleh Mamon, CAMPACC
  106. Shelley Assiter, Therapist
  107. Sue Udry, Defending Rights & Dissent
  108. Yusuf Patel, Founder SRE Islamic 
  109. Zeyn Thompson, Psychiatrist
  110. Kelsey Mohamed
  111. Lani Parker
  112. Ifhat Smith
  113. Nic Aaron
  114. Mo Mansfield

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *